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Alabama Private Investigation Board

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION

AGENCY NAME:

Alabama Private Investigation Board

RULE NO. & TITLE:

741-X-4 Licensure

INTENDED ACTION:

To amend Rules & Regulations

SUBSTANCE OF PROPOSED ACTION:

The Alabama Private Investigation Board proposes to amend their Administrative Code or
Rules and Regulations under which to operate. Specifically, the proposed amendments are to
ensure that all renewal language reflects the enabling statute language.

TIME, PLACE, MANNER OF PRESENTING VIEWS:

Written comments, vieWs, or arguments will be received by the Alabama Private Investigation
Board thru 4:30 p.m. on July 5, 2016. Comments should be directed to Paula McCaleb,
Executive Director, at P.O. Box 241206, Montgomery, AL 36124.

FINAL DATE FOR COMMENT AND COMPLETION OF NOTICE:

July 5, 2016

CONTACT PERSON AT AGENCY:

Paula McCaleb, Executive Director
334.215.0693
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741-X-4-.01 Qualifications of Applicants for Licensure

(1) Each individual applicant shall meet the following criteria:

(a) Be atleast 21 years of age.

(b) Has not been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by
reason of mental defect or disease (unless a court of competent jurisdiction has
subsequently declared the applicant competent).

(c) Has not been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude (with the Board having final
determination on the interpretation of moral turpitude).

(d) Has not been convicted of a felony crime.

(e) Has passed an examination by the Board designed to measure knowledge and
competence in the investigation field;

OR

(a) Be an investigator holding a current business license in the state of Alabama on the
effective date of the adoption of the rules and regulations of the Board. The
opportunity to apply for a private investigator license issued under this rule shall
expire 365 days after the implementation of the rules and regulations of the Board.
Holders of these licenses shall be eligible to renew their licenses, as are any other
licensed private investigators.

(2) The applicant shall submit a completed application form and pay all required fees.
(3) Implementation for licensure shall begin on the effective date of the adoption of the rules
and regulations. The initial licensure period shall be dated to begin on May 1, 2014-with

date—l:&e%ees—wﬂ—net—be—p;emted—All I:censes |ssued or renewed shall be valld for a
period of two years from the date of issuance.

(5) Persons working as a private investigator, unless otherwise exempt, shall have a valid
private investigator license.

741-X-4-.02 Licensure by Work Experience

Private Investigators holding a current business license in the state of Alabama on the effective
date of the adoption of the rules and regulations of the Board may apply under the work
experience option. The opportunity to apply for a private investigator license issued under this
rule shall expire 365 days after the implementation of the rules and regulations of the Board.



The applicant for licensure by Work Experience shall submit:
(1) A completed application.
(2) Required fees.
(3) Copy of a current business license in the state of Alabama.

Private Investigators who are issued licenses during implementation, based on a current state of

Alabama business license during implementation, shall be eligible to renew their licenses as are
any other licensed private investigators.

741-X-4-.03 Licensure by Examination

(1) The applicant for licensure by Examination shall pass an Examination by the Board

designed to measure knowledge and competence in the investigation field and shall
submit;

(a) A completed application
(b) Required fees

(2) Any applicant who seeks to qualify for a private investigators license must apply directly
to the independent testing organization selected by the Board to prepare and grade such
examination. Payment of any examination (or re-examination) fee shall be the
responsibility of the applicant. The independent testing organization will notify each
examinee of the results of the examination.

(3) Applicants for private investigator license must be on file with this office prior to
scheduling examination(s).

741-X-4-.04 Renewal of License
(1) Licensure periods:

@) The private investigator license shall rermally be valid for two years-expiring-April
30-ofeven-numbered-years:or

{2} The continuing education earr;ing period is rermally-a two-year period of time in which at
least sixteen (16) contact hours shall be accrued (eight (8) hours in each calendar year).

ThIS is the tlme penod of the current Ilcense Ln4he—easesef—a++abbpevhated4;eense

(3) The renewal of I;cense shall be accompllshed prlor to explrahon of the current Itcense

(4) Failure to renew prior to the expiration date of the current license will result in an
additional late fee. Licenses may be renewed up to thirty (30) days after expiration date.
Private investigators will not be permitted to work as a private investigator if their license
has expired.

(5) Renewal notices may be mailed or transmitted electronically. Notice shall be sent to the
applicant’s address of record sixty (60) days prior to the renewal date.

(6) To be eligible for renewal, the applicant shall:
(a) Hold a valid, active Alabama license;
(b) Submit a completed and signed renewal application and required fee(s):
(c) Meet continuing education requirements;
(d) Pass a review of criminal history for criminal convictions and civil fraud findings.

(7) The applicant is responsible to supply current mailing address records to the Board.

(8) Failure to receive the renewal application or notice shall not relieve the licensee of the
responsibility of renewing the license by the expiration date.

(9) Any license not renewed within thirty (30) days following the expiration date
shall lapse. Any individual who practices with a lapsed license shall be subject to
penalties established under Chapter 741-X-6 — Disciplinary Actions.

741-X-4-.05 Reinstatement of a Lapsed License

A lapsed license may be reinstated upon submission of a completed application and compliance
with the following:



(1) Payment of current renewal and reinstatement fees and any applicable fine(s).

(2) Evidence of completion of sixteen (16) contact hours of approved continuing education
within twenty-four (24) months preceding application. A maximum of eight (8) contact
hours earned through independent study may be used for reinstatement of a lapsed
license. Contact hours earned for reinstatement of a lapsed license may not be used
toward the continuing education requirement for the next license renewal.

(3) Submit a completed and signed request for reinstatement form.

(4) Pass and pay for a review of criminal history for criminal convictions and civil fraud
findings.

741-X-4-.06 Change of Name or Address

(1) The applicant or licensee shall notify the Board of any requested name change.
Appropriate legal documents and fees shall be submitted prior to changing the name of
the licensee on the license card.

(2) The applicant or licensee shall notify the Board in writing within thirty (30) days of any

change in his or her address. The address of record is the address provided by the
applicant or licensee.

741-X-4-.07 Lost License
The licensee shall promptly report, in writing, the loss of a license card to the Board.

741-X-4-.08 Verification of Alabama License
(1) Verification of licensure will be available by telephone and on a Board maintained web
site.

(2) Upon receipt of a written request, the Board's designee shall provide written verification
of Alabama license.

741-X-4-.09 Fees
(1) Fees and fines are not refundable.
(2) Fees are payable by certified check, cashier's check, corporate or business check,
money order, or personal check.
(a) Counter checks are not an acceptable method of payment. Personal checks shall

be imprinted with the name, address, and account number of the applicant or
licensee.

(b) Personal checks by third parties are not acceptable.

(c) Applicants or licensees who submit personal checks returned due to insufficient
funds may be prohibited from paying any future fees or fines by personal check.

(d) Statutory charges for returned checks shall be paid by the applicant or licensees
within ten business days from receipt of notice to remit full payment pursuant to Ala.
Code Section 13A-8-13.01 (b) (2) and pay the maximum fee allowed by Ala. Code
Section 8-8-15.

(3) Fines are payable by certified check, cashier’s check, corporate or business check, or
money order.

(4) The Board may allow payment of fees by electronic means.

(6) Payment, regardless of the method, that is not honored by the financial institution may
result in disciplinary action and/or reporting to the appropriate legal authorities for
possible prosecution.

(6) A license may not be issued until funds are received by the Board.

(7) The current schedule of fees and charges are included in the appendix.

741-X-4-10 Fingerprinting
(1) An applicant shall furnish the Board with three (3) sets of classifiable fingerprints with his
or her application for the purpose of allowing the Board to forward the fingerprints to the
Alabama Bureau of Investigation (ABI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) as
required by the Alabama Private Investigation Regulatory Act. An applicant shall be
deemed to have furnished the Board with three (3) sets of classifiable fingerprints if he or



@)

©)

she causes a private company or agency contracted by the State to electronically

transmit the applicant’s classifiable prints directly to the ABI and FBI and to forward a

classifiable hard copy of the applicant's fingerprints to the Board on standard ABI/FBI

applicant cards. The Board shall notify every applicant in writing of the name, address
and telephone number of any company or agency contracted by the State to provide
such a service. All private investigator applicants shall comply with the following
requirements regarding the payment for the fingerprinting service:

(a) All sets of classifiable fingerprints required by this rule shall be furnished at the
expense of the applicant;

(b) If the applicant chooses to request that the Board process the fingerprint cards, then
the applicant shall submit with his or her application three (3) sets of classifiable
fingerprints on cards provided by the Board for processing through the ABI and FBI.
The applicant shall pay to the Board all processing fees established by the ABI and
FBI.

(c) Ifthe applicant chooses to use the services of a company or agency that has
contracted with the state to provide electronic fingerprinting service, then the
applicant shall make the arrangements for the processing of his or her fingerprints
with the company or agency directly and shall be responsible for payment of any
fees associated with processing of fingerprints to the respective agency.

(d) Inthe event the State no longer contracts with any company or agency to provide
an electronic fingerprinting service, then the applicant shall submit three (3)
classifiable ABI and FBI fingerprint cards with his or her application and shall pay
the Board all processing fees established by the ABI and FBI.

(e) Applicants shall in all cases be responsible for paying application fees as
established by the Board regardless of the manner of fingerprinting the applicant
chooses.

In the event an applicant furnishes unclassifiable fingerprints or fingerprints that are

unclassifiable in nature to the Board, or the Alabama Bureau of Investigation (ABI) or

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Board may refuse to issue the requested

license. For the purposes of this rule, “unclassifiable fingerprints” means that the

electronic scan or the print of the person’s fingerprints cannot be read, and therefore
cannot be used to identify the person. Should an applicant’s fingerprints be rejected by
the ABI or FBI, the applicant shall pay any fees assessed by the ABI or FBI for
resubmission.

In the event that the fingerprint card submitted by an applicant is rejected or otherwise

unable to be processed by the Alabama Bureau of Investigation (ABI) and/or the Federal

Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the applicant shall submit a new fingerprint card together

with any additional fee(s) charged by the ABI and/or FBI for processing the new
fingerprint card.

741-X-4-.11 Exemptions from Licensure

Nothing in these rules shall be construed as preventing or restricting the practice, services, or
activities of the following:

(1)

(2)
(€

4)

An employee of any business or entity that is not primarily engaged in the business of
private investigation when that employee is performing duties related to his or her
employment.

An investigation of the internal affairs of a private business entity investigating a current
or prospective employee.

An employee of any business or entity that is not primarily engaged in the business of
private investigation when that employee is working under a contract for his or her
services that his or her employer signed with a third party.

Any person or professional, including without limitation an attorney providing Iegal
services, who is not primarily engaged in the business of private investigation, but who in

conjunction with his or her business or profession may occasionally perform private
investigation services.



(5) Any business or entity that is not primarily engaged in the business of private
investigation.

(6) A consumer-reporting agency as defined by the Federal Fair Credit Reporting Act.

(7) Any certified public accountant authorized to engage in the practice of public
accountancy in this state or any entity licensed or otherwise permitted to engage in the
practice of public accountancy in this state or the affiliated entities thereof.

(8) (a) An attorney-at-law in good standing and licensed to practice law;

(b) An employee of a single attorney or single law firm who is acting within the
employee’s scope of employment of the attorney or law firm; or

(c) A consultant, accident reconstructionist, or forensic scientist when the person is
retained by an attorney, insurance company representative, or appointed by a court to
serve as an expert witness or to investigate, or to make tests, conduct experiments,
draw conclusions, render opinions or make diagnoses, where those services require the
use of training or experience in a technical, scientific, or social science field.

(9) Any individual engaged in any of the following:

(a) Computer or digital forensic services.

(b) The acquisition, review, or analysis of digital or computer-based information for
evidentiary or other purposes or to provide expert testimony before any court,
Board, officer, or investigating committee.

(c) Network or system vulnerability testing, including network scans and risk
assessment and analysis of computers connected to a network.

Author: The Alabama Private Investigation Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama (1975) § 34-25B-1 through § 34-25B-29
Date: March 7, 2014
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741-X-7

CHAPTER 741-X-7
Education

Education

741-X-7-.01 Continuing Education

741-X-7-.02 Standards for Continuing Education
741-X-7-.03 Private Investigator Trainers
741-X-7-.04  Certified Training Program
741-X-7-.05 Reporting Requirements and Audit

741-X-7-.01 Continuing Education

(1)

Each licensee shall complete eight (8) hours of continuing professional education
acceptable to the Board in each calendar year. A private investigator shall be
individually accountable for continued competence to provide private investigation
services and shall maintain documentation to support all continuing education necessary
for renewal.

The Board may prescribe a continuing education program for reentry into practice.
Units of measure for continuing education shall be:

(a) 1 contact hour = 50 minutes

(b) 0.5 contact hour = 25 minutes

(c) 15 contact hours = 1 academic semester credit hour

(d) 10 contact hours = 1 academic quarter credit hour

Hours required.

(a) Each licensed private investigator shall complete sixteen (16) contact hours of
continuing education over the two-year licensure period. Of these required hours,
two (2) hours in Ethics will be required over the two-year licensure period.

(c) Any course accepted for credit shall be at least 25 minutes in length.

Waiver or extension of continuing education.

(@) The Board may grant an extension of the deadline to complete the required hours of
continuing education if it can be shown that compliance was beyond the control of
the person seeking the waiver.

(b) Deadline extensions will be considered only on an individual basis and may be
requested by submitting the following items to the Board office:

(i) A written request for a deadline extension and a written and signed explanation
of the reason for the request; and
(i) Any documentation, which supports the reason(s) for the deadline
extension requested or which is subsequently requested by the
Board.

(c) A deadline extension approved by the Board is effective only for the renewal period
for which the waiver is sought.

741-X-7-.02 Standards for Continuing Education

(1)
(@)

3)
(4)

The Board or another organization recognized by the Board may approve providers of
continuing education.

The Alabama Private Investigators Association continuing education activities, which
pertain to private investigation, shall be considered prior approved, providing they meet
all other requirements for contact hours.

The continuing education program must be a formal program of learning which
contributes directly to the professional competence of the licensee.

The following additional methods may be utilized for obtaining continuing education
hours:



(@) By taking and passing (with a grade of C or better) a college or university course
which comprises part of the professional requirements for a formal education in a
criminal justice education program, or any course that shall enhance a private
investigator’s professional growth and development.

(b) Membership in professional organizations, holding office in, or participating on
Boards or committees pertaining to Private Investigation may be counted up to two
(2) hours for each renewal period.

(c) By completing a self-study course, such as a course offered on the internet, which
has been approved by the Alabama Private Investigators Association or the Board
for a specific number of continuing education hours. No more than eight (8) contact
hours of continuing education units of self-study may be applied for renewal of a
license.

(d) Preparation and presentation of a lecture approved for continuing education hours
under these rules shall be eligible for two (2) contact hours for each contact hour of
presentation for the first presentation. Subsequent presentations of the same
lecture will not be awarded additional contact hours.

(5) Private investigator related educational offerings as described in this Chapter will be
acceptable for continuing education credit provided the courses meet minimum time
requirements for contact hours as stated in 741-X-7-.01 (3) and provided these
organizations and their affiliates maintain records documenting educational programs
and rosters of licensed private investigators who attend their programs. Such
documentation shall be retained for three (3) years and made available to the Board
upon request. An acceptable Continuing Education Provider is defined as any
individual, organization, institution, assaociation, firm, or other entity that provides ongoing
training services to the private investigator that directly relates to the practice of private
investigation. Acceptable Continuing Education Providers are listed below:

(a) Associations — The Board will accept continuing education credits for instruction
provided by legitimate private investigator associations. This shall include, but is
not limited to, state and national associations which are properly incorporated and in
good standing with the appropriate incorporating body.

(b) Company Training — Companies may develop continuing education courses to
provide training solely for their own employees.

(c) Institutions — Institutions that provide training for profit.

(d) Distance Learning — Distance learning shall include, but is not limited to, online
internet-based training and correspondence courses.

(e) Individuals and Firms — Individuals and firms that provide training for profit.

(f) State Board or Commission — Continuing Education approved by a Licensure Board
or Commission for Private Investigators.

(6) The Board specifically reserves the right to approve or disapprove credit for continuing
education claimed under this Chapter.

(7) Continuing education credit will not be allowed for the following:

(a) Regular work activities.

(b) Independent unstructured or self-structured learning such as home study programs,
except as authorized pursuant to Chapter 741-X-7-.02(4)(c).

(c) Training specifically related to policies and procedures of an agency.

741-X-7-.03 Private Investigator Trainers
(1) Qualifications of Certified Trainers - Any person offering private investigation training

must first be certified by the Board. In order to qualify as a Certified Trainer or instructor,
or both, the trainer shall meet the following criteria:

(a) Is atleast 21years of age.
(b) Has had at least three years’ experience satisfactory to the Board with an
investigative company or proprietary entity or with any federal, United States

Military, state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency and relating to the
block of instruction.



Assistant Trainers shall be under the supervision and control of the Certified Trainer by

whom they were appointed. The Certified Trainer shall be held accountable for the

performance of each Assistant Trainer.

Qualifications of Assistant Trainers - Assistant Trainers may work under the supervision

of a Certified Trainer in the implementation of a training program. In order to qualify as

an Assistant Trainer, the applicant shall meet the following criteria:

(a) Is atleast 19 years of age.

(b) Has had at least one year of experience with an investigative company or any
United States Military, state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency.

An application for Certified or Assistant Trainer shall be filed with the Board in the

prescribed form.

The Board shall be notified in writing within ten (10) days of any material change in

information furnished in connection with an application for trainer certification.

Upon approval of a Certified Trainer or Assistant Trainer application, the applicant shall

pay a fee for certification (see Appendices | — Fees). Certification shall expire two (2)

years after the date of issuance and shall be renewable biennially for a renewal fee (see
Appendices | — Fees).

741-X-7-.04 Certified Training Program.

(1)

Each certified trainer shall provide each student a syllabus/outline prior to their

enroliment in a training program. This syllabus/outline shall include:

(2) the number and type of course(s) to be taught in the training program:

(b) The amount of time to be devoted to each course;

(c) The title and author of each textbook to be utilized by the certified or assistant
trainer(s) in their instruction. If students are required to purchase texts for a
program or course, information as to where such text(s) may be purchased and the
approximate price thereof should also be included:;

(d) The name of each Certified Trainer responsible for the administration of the training
program and the name of each Certified or Assistant Trainer to be utilized in the
implementation of the program;

(e) Allfees to be charged to enroll in and complete the training program:;

(f)  The maximum number of students to be enrolled in the program at any one time.

Maintain a record of each student enrolled in the training program for a period of three

(3) years after their completion thereof. Such records shall be made available to the

Board upon reasonable request.

Provide classroom space to adequately accommodate students. Students should be

seated at individual desks, tables or in a proper learning environment.

By applying for certification as a trainer, an applicant agrees to permit periodic

monitoring of his/her training program by the Board for the purpose of evaluating the

program content, instructor performance, or any other relevant aspect of the
administration and conduct of such training program.

The Board may revoke or suspend the certification of a trainer or program if, after

reasonable notice and opportunity for hearing, the Board finds that such trainer or

program:

(a) has violated any provision of the Alabama Private Investigation Regulatory Act, this
Chapter, or any other Chapter of the Rules and Regulations of the Board:

(b) has become certified through fraud or misrepresentation;

(c) has falsified any statement or record required to be submitted or kept hereunder:

(d) has been convicted by a court of competent jurisdiction of a felony or a
misdemeanor, if the Board finds that such conviction reflects unfavorably on the
trainer's fitness for certification;

(e) is demonstrably incompetent to conduct private investigator training;

(f) has made any material misrepresentation as to the information contained in the
syllabus/outline provided to prospective students, or

(g) s guilty of misconduct or gross negligence in the operation of a training program.



(6)

()

(8)
(9)

If an individual wishes to terminate his/her status as a Certified Trainer, he/she shall
notify the Board in writing. The notice shall include the effective date of the desired
termination, and shall be accompanied by the certified trainer's original certificate.

Upon completion of each training program, the certified trainer shall submit to the Board
a certified list of the names and addresses of those individuals successfully completing
the program.

No certified trainer, or program shall represent that he/she or any aspect of his/her
business or activity, has been recommended or endorsed by the Board.

Students of Private Investigation Training Programs may not participate in actual private

investigation fieldwork. They may, however, participate in mock fieldwork exercises
supervised by a certified or assistant trainer.

(10) No Certified Trainer or Assistant Trainer may utilize students in their training program as

apprentice investigators without prior approval of the Board.

741-X-7-.05 Reporting Requirements for Audit

(1)

(2)

(3)
(4)

A private investigator shall:

(a) Provide a signed statement of affirmation, under penalty, of the degree of
compliance with continuing education requirements for license renewal including but
not limited to compliance with:

(i) Earning the required number of contact hours of Board-approved or Board-
recognized continuing education activities;

(i) The designated earning period;

(i) Content and acceptable activities, and

(iv) Any other requirements in these rules.

(b) Maintain individual continuing education records for three (3) years following the
renewal date for which the contact hours were earned including but not limited to
certificates, transcripts, or other documentation of attendance at continuing
education activities to substantiate earned contact hours.

(c) Submit documented evidence of meeting continuing education requirements within
thirty (30) days of the date a written request is mailed first class to the address of
record of the private investigator.

A private investigator who fails to comply with reporting requirements, requirements for

audit, requests for documents, or submitting false, inaccurate, or incomplete evidence of

meeting continuing education requirements shall be subject to disciplinary action by the

Board.

A private investigator who fails to provide evidence meeting continuing education

requirements for license renewal shall not have the license renewed.

Providers:

(@) A provider's compliance may be evaluated by participant evaluations, provider
evaluation, random on-site visits, or an audit of the provider's reports and records
by the Board or its designee.

(b) Audits of providers may be conducted upon written complaint by any individual for
failure of a provider to meet criteria for approval. The provider shall submit
requested documents within thirty (30) days of the date a written request is mailed.
Failure to comply may result in sanctions by the Board.

(c) A self-evaluation report of compliance with standards shall be submitted to the

Board according to Board guidelines as part of the application for continued
approval.

Author: The Alabama Private Investigation Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama (1975) § 34-25B-1 through § 34-25B-29
Date: March 7, 2014
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RULE NO. & TITLE:

Appendices | Fee Schedule

INTENDED ACTION:

To amend Rules & Regulations

SUBSTANCE OF PROPOSED ACTION:

The Alabama Private Investigation Board proposes to amend their Administrative Code or
Rules and Regulations under which to operate. Specifically, the proposed amendments are to
lower the application fee and provide a fee to cover costs for mailing labels.

TIME, PLACE, MANNER OF PRESENTING VIEWS:

Written comments, views, or arguments will be received by the Alabama Private Investigation
Board thru 4:30 p.m. on July §, 2016. Comments should be directed to Paula McCaleb,
Executive Director, at P.O. Box 241206, Montgomery, AL 36124.

FINAL DATE FOR COMMENT AND COMPLETION OF NOTICE:

July 5, 2016

CONTACT PERSON AT AGENCY:

Paula McCaleb, Executive Director
334.215.0693




Appendices |
Fee Schedule

Application Fee $12500
License Fee $300
Renewal Fee $300
Late Renewal Fee (Penalty) $200
Certified Trainer Fee $500
Assistant Trainer Fee $250
Mailing Label Fee $100
Law/Rule & Regulation Book $ 50

(for non-licensees)

Author: The Alabama Private Investigation Board

Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama (1975) § 34-25B-1 through § 34-25B-29
Date: March 7, 2014



