FAQ's Regarding Licensure Examination

Q: Why do I have to take a test to be a Private Investigator?

A: Alabama Law requires that an examination designed to measure knowledge and competence in the investigation field be passed in order to obtain an Alabama Private Investigator License (§34-25B-12 (a)(5)).

Q: What do I need to study?

A: The APIB Law and Administrative Code for Licensed Private Investigators (found on this site) and *The Complete Idiot's Guide to Private Investigating, 3rd Edition* by Steven Kerry Brown (can be ordered at www.amazon.com or any retail bookstore).

Q: When is the examination given?

A: The examination is scheduled at a time and date of the exam candidates choosing. Specifically, once an individual receives their "Exam Eligibility Notice" from the APIB, they can go online or call PSI to set their own testing date, time, and location.

Q: Where is the examination given?

A: The examination is provided at testing sites through out the nation. In Alabama, there are currently four testing sites (Birmingham, Huntsville, Montgomery, and Mobile). Once an individual receives their "Exam Eligibility Notice" from the APIB, they can go online or call PSI to pick their testing site.

Q: What do I need to do to sit for an examination?

A: Submit an Application by Credential (Examination) to APIB (found on this web site under the "Forms" or "Applicant" Tab). Upon approval of the application, the applicant will be sent an "Exam Eligibility Notice" that authorizes them to schedule a time, date, and location for their examination.

Q: When will I receive my results?

A: The examination is computer based. Therefore, test results can be received immediately after taking the examination. Once you have received passing results from PSI, mail this proof of passing the examination and \$300 license fee to the APIB office. Upon receipt, your license may be processed if your criminal history results have already been received from ALEA.

Q: What do I do if I fail the test?

A: Exam Candidates are not limited to how many attempts they can make at passing the examination and therefore, would not have to go through the application process again to receive another "Exam Eligibility Notice". Once the Exam Candidate has revisited the study material, they may contact PSI directly to schedule another examination.

Q: How much is the test?

A: The testing fee of \$100 will be submitted directly to PSI when scheduling an examination. This covers the cost of administering and scoring the examination. APIB pays PSI annually for the development of the examination in order to lower the cost to Exam Candidates.